EWS (Economically Weaker Sections) Quota

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

What is EWS

A quota for economically weaker sections in General Category in civil posts and services and Education

What is the percentage of reservation



  1. Must belong to General Category

  2. Family's* gross annual income must be less than Rs. 8 Lakhs

  3. The person and his family must not own any of the following

  • 5 acres of agricultural land and above;

  • Residential at of 1000 sq ft. and above;

  • Residential plot of 100 sq. yards and above in notified municipalities;

  • Residential, plot of 200 sq. yards and above in areas other than the notified municipalities.

* The term "Family" for this purpose will include the person who seeks benefit

of reservation, his/her parents and siblings below the age of 18 years as also

his/her spouse and children below the age of 18 years

Income and Asset Certificate Issuing Authority and Verification of Certificate

The following authorities can issue the EWS certificate as given the attached image format

District Magistrate/Additional District Magistrate/ Collector/ Deputy

Commissioner/Additional' Deputy Commissioner/ 1st Class Stipendary

Magistrate/ Sub-Divisional Magistrate/ Taluka Magistrate! Executive

Magistrate/ Extra Assistant Commissioner

Chief Presidency Magistrate/Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate/

Presidency Magistrate

Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tehsildar and

Sub-Divisional Officer or the area where the candidate and/or his family

normally resides.

Documents needed for EWS Certificate

This can vary from state to state. But generally, the following documents should be sufficient

  1. Income certificate

  2. Caste Certificate

  3. Property Certificate

  4. voter ID Card

  5. Aadhar Card

  6. Passport Size Photo

40 views0 comments